Dream-catcher …

Fragments,

slivers of time,

surface in dreams that slide and elide.

Shards of memories, unsought,

glide splintered and torn

in the rip-tide streams of unconscious thought;

formless fears coalesce and oppress,

cutting a channel through emerald and jade:

refractions distorting the waves as they fade.

Faces unknown reflect in blind eyes

a meeting of mind they don’t recognise.

In a dreamscape surreal the sea is the sky

where islands are clouds

and the moon and the stars are startled and gaze

at the day swimming past in an inky-blue haze.

Made captive by sleep a dreamer must dream;

in the realm of the soul all is as it seems

until the dawn that is breaking releases the sun

and the dream-catcher’s snare dissolves a nightmare.

About atomsofstars

Reticent .. but I hope my poetry speaks for me .. Favourite quotation .. ' Uttering a word is like striking a note on the keyboard of the imagination.' Ludwig Wittgenstein
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dream-catcher …

  1. Katy says:

    This is lovely.

  2. atomsofstars says:

    Hello Katy …

    Thank you very much … I’m happy that you’ve enjoyed it .

  3. JM says:

    Hello Marya,
    If only I were a dream! But at least I can share in your imagery, as enchanting as ever. I wonder that STC suffered so much, when he dreamt so often of his beloved Asra – surely it was of his own doing in the mysterious depths where the flows were beyond his will.
    When I pick up that book you set me to read, I little realized how hard it would be to put it down again. I am truly lost for the right words. I am so engrossed as to neglect my duties – and might need to find someone to blame! 😉

    • atomsofstars says:

      Hello Jamie … it’s good to see you … thank you 🙂

      I’m delighted you are finding the biography so enthralling .. like its subject it is exceptional, isn’t it? Yes, poor Coleridge .. how he struggled through life … battling with his personality, his affections, his addiction and his genius.
      I couldn’t put it down either … I lacked will-power, too 🙂 Did you buy both volumes ? Not an indulgence but a necessity, I think 🙂

Leave a comment