The moon has murmured …

The moon has murmured to the sea

and left the shore bereft.

There is no power to return the waves

but her mysterious will.

The moon has recalled the sea from caves

which now I enter in, silent and still,

to see the glistening jewels of stone

her treasure trove within.

There is no power to return the waves

but her mysterious will.

High tide and the moon decrees

that sand and shore be drowned.

Her power to command the seas

leaves me outside her caves, silent and still ..

those treasuries reclaimed by the force

of her calm, imperious will.

About atomsofstars

Reticent .. but I hope my poetry speaks for me .. Favourite quotation .. ' Uttering a word is like striking a note on the keyboard of the imagination.' Ludwig Wittgenstein
This entry was posted in Nature, Philosophy, The moon, The sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The moon has murmured …

  1. Shermeen says:

    atom, you are so clever…you really, really are. How can I tell you what a delight your poetry is for me. It satisfies on both the aesthetic and the cerebral level.

  2. atomsofstars says:

    You’re much too kind, Shermeen, but I am pleased that my lines give you pleasure 🙂

    Thank you very much for taking the time to read and to comment on them .. I appreciate your interest … as I wrote in the poem ..’On writing’

    ‘I was here for a moment

    that melted away

    but if I should meet you

    in these lines

    scribbled in ink,

    I’d hear a faint echo of your mind

    I’d like to think…’

    ( more than a faint echo, I think, Shermeen 🙂

Leave a comment